Shakeology 3 Day Cleanse

Standard

I’m not a big believer in cleanses. I mean.. I understand that they exist..haha but they just aren’t for me.

I don’t like the idea of depriving and starving yourself to lose water weight.. just to gain it back a few days later.

However-our friends Sarah, Nick, and Rob came into town and I felt like I had consumed an incredible amount of processed food, beer, queso dip, french fries, beer, deep fried avocado tacos,  more beer, another order of french fries, and Indian food (which I adore). Anywho, for someone who normally eats relatively clean, vegetarian, organic fruits and veggies this made me SO sick. My stomach hurt so bad and was incredibly bloated. I was so wiped out. I felt like I had to take charge of my body and hit the reset button. I began researching cleanses and stumped upon Shakeology. This was one was way different that the ones I had heard of before.

shakeology-vs-master-cleanse

 

So if it was only three days, and i was still getting nutrients I thought– why not at least try it.

Here is what it entails:

3-Day-CleanseDan’s mom just so happened to send us a bag of shakeology the week before because she didn’t like the Vanilla flavor and thought we would put it to good use- perfect timing!

Each Day I ate the following:

  • Breakfast: Shakeology Shake + Water + Ice
  • Lunch: Shakeology Shake + Water + Ice
  • Snack: Banana
  • Snack: Shakeology Shake +Water + Ice + 1 cup pineapple
  • Dinner: Big Leafy Salad with Mushrooms, Hard Boiled Egg (I’m a vegetarian) and Poppy Seed Dressing – and pepper!

Day 1 I started off super excited and determined! I remained that way thougout. I would have to say it wasn’t as if I was starving, but Day 2 I was pretty hungry and just craving something crunchy to chew on. Day 3 I was sick of the salad and didn’t even want to finish it. I felt like I had energy through all 3 days, but usually around 9:00 I started getting sleepy when it’s normally around 10:30.

Results:

I lost about 6 lbs and to my surprise I have kept it off. (remember, my goal wasn’t to lose a bunch of weight, it was more to purge it off the junk I had been eating and re-set) I did measure my stomach and hips before and I did lose 3 inches around my stomach and 1.5 inches around my hips. I felt very clean and refreshed and determined to keep my body healthy and eat clean.

The morning after the cleanse I was so excited to wake up and eat Kashi with Almond milk and cashews…..mmmm The CRUNCH!!

I would recommend this cleanse for someone who is looking to detox and reset their body. I have started working out heavily (5x a week) and this was a great way to prepare my body for that!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

